Artists Open House 2010: why?

Because I’m vain? Well, that’s a good start, why else?

Because the Artists Open House that I (and Yari, and our Swedish friend Ingegerd/a.k.a. Iki, together with her sister Karin) will be exhibiting at is supporting a most worthy local charity: the Survivor’s Network.

Their website isn’t all too informative – but do feel free to explore it – so I’m trying to rectify that in this post – as far as I can, because I am not an expert on them.

In short, they help women who are the victim of sexual abuse of various sorts; childhood abuse of long ago, as well as rape as-short-as-possible after. It doesn’t need explaining that that is a great and very valuable service; I will just post some more informational material below for anyone interested to read.

To shortly explain how the charity support works: if you buy our stuff (and it will not just be ‘us three’; there will be like a dozen artists (I hesitate to use this term for myself :S) exhibiting their art. There will be at least two other photographers; Iki is sending jewellery (all you ladies should be curious – I’ve seen it and it’s beautiful!); there is at least one painter; there is one (or maybe two) embroiderer (embroideress?); and Yari’s mom is sending in, from Italy, her bead-sculptures – and then there’s the people I don’t know about.

In addition there will be all sorts of homemade cakes up for sale which also help the charity so stuffing yourself has never felt so good either!

I’ll write more about what to expect soon but for now I wanted to have this background out. Do all come, the Acupuncture Clinic is in Hove close to Hove station and even closer to Aldrington station, and it’s on the 49 bus line to Portslade too.

Now here’s the Support Network info:

One thought on “Artists Open House 2010: why?

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Artists Open House 2010: why? « Same shit, different blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

