Opinion | Opinie 13/02/2010: Whole Lotta Love kicks ass!

It’s weekend, it’s nearly Valentine’s Day… so I don’t feel like heavy opinions for today and tomorrow (tomorrow’s one is easy, if you know me and you know it’s Valentine’s Day, that’s a gimme).

I’ve been listening to a lot of rediscovered music recently – thanks to Spotify! – so I want to write about music. What, whom is tough though. “Pretty Hate Machine has finished downloading”, nah, too negative.

Well, anticipating that looming Valentine’s Day, why not this song:

one of my all-time favorites, and recently taken back on extra meaning…

Led Zeppelin – Whole Lotta Love

It’s just awesome…

One of the best ways of deciding whether something is heavy metal and not mere hard rock, is to play it louder. If it gets better – it’s heavy metal.

By that “definition”, Whole Lotta Love is absolutely heavy metal!

The guitar/bass riff is so crunchingly loud, it’s staggering. I also think that the drum track is one of the best drum tracks (John Bonham!) of all time. It starts pretty standard after 35 s, but then the first 1 min 20 or so of the song are mostly the main riff serving as a vehicle for characteristic Robert Plant sexual innuendo lyrics :-).

After 1 min 20, things take a change towards the weird and wonderful, and it all gets really exciting for a whole minute, that zips by too fast. After that, John Bonham lets rip and previous bonecrushing service is resumed. Between 2 min 30 and 3 min, the song reaches its climax (oddly appropriate way of putting it), with all four members reaching top gear and Plant threatening to give his partner “every inch of my love”.

After a small pause wherein the band catches a bit of breath, the drums crash in again at 3 min 45 and from there it’s a mad race towards the finish line, each of the band members going gung-ho.

As I said, although the guitar/bass riff is amazing, I really like how the drums signal every key point in the song by pummeling in – at 35 s, at 2 min 20, at 2 min 38, and at 3 min 44 – perhaps the most impressive one, coming from near-complete silence.

Led Zeppelin – Whole Lotta Love

You need coolin’, baby, I’m not foolin’,
I’m gonna send you back to schoolin’,
Way down inside, honey, you need it,
I’m gonna give you my love,
I’m gonna give you my love.
Oh…

Wanna whole lotta love (x4)

You’ve been learnin’, and baby, I been learnin’,
All them good times, baby, baby, I’ve been yearnin’,
Way, way down inside honey, you need it,
I’m gonna give you my love… ah…
I’m gonna give you my love… ah…
Oh!

Wanna whole lotta love (x4)

You’ve been coolin’, baby, I’ve been droolin’,
All the good times, baby, I’ve been misusin’,
Way, way down inside, I’m gonna give you my love,
I’m gonna give you every inch of my love,
Gonna give you my love.
Yeah! Alright let’s go…

Wanna Whole Lotta Love (x4)

Way down inside… woman… you need… love.

Shake for me, girl, I wanna be your backdoor man.

Keep a-coolin’, baby (x4)

One thought on “Opinion | Opinie 13/02/2010: Whole Lotta Love kicks ass!

  1. Pingback: Led Zeppelin News » Blog Archive » Opinion | Opinie 13/02/2010: Whole Lotta Love kicks ass! « Same ...

Leave a Reply

