The corners of the board, part 1 of 4 – top left

or: my first attempt at chess “blogging”.

If it takes too long I’ll drop it like a hot potato.

Disclaimer: I do not claim to be a great, or even good, chess player. Mainly I am better than most of the opponents I play, and therefore I beat them (although that does sound like a circular argument, even).

For starters I’d like to show four games featuring four attacks on the enemy king, which happened to take place on the four corners of the board, well, from my point of view at least:

Top left, me playing White attacking a queenside castled king

Bottom left, me playing Black and my castled kingside being attacked

Top right, me playing White attacking a kingside castled king

Bottom right, me playing Black and my castled queenside being attacked

All games were played on the RedHotPawn website. The first game is maybe the least interesting, because I was already winning when I started the attack. It still features some neat moves, I think.

White: marvol
Black: zorino2000
1. d4 d5 2. c4 c6 3. Nf3 Nf6 4. Qc2 Bg4 5. Ne5 Bh5 6. g3 Nbd7
Now I should simply keep developing with Bg2 instead of what I did:
7. cxd5? Nxe5 8. dxe5 Nxd5?
(8…Qxe5 9.f3 simply wins the e5 pawn because of the attack on Rh1)
Here I made an interesting choice, based on the idea that Black will have a problem with his pawn structure after each of the three possibilities, and always with a gap on f7.
9. e6!?
9…f6
(9…exf6 leaves Black with doubled isolated e-pawns; any other move is followed by 10. exf7+ leaving an isolated e-pawn and a bishop looking odd on f7.)
10. Bg2 Qd6 11. O-O Qxe6 12. e4
Without looking at specific variations, this was approximately what I had in mind after playing 9.e6; Black is using a lot of time winning the pawn, thus giving me a nice lead in development (and his Queen still has to move before he can even move his e-pawn, increasing my lead in development even more).
Now Black simply blunders following Nunn’s “LPDO” adage (Loose Pieces Drop Off). I remember spending a long time – probably late at night :-S – looking at 12…Bg6 but of course that simply loses a piece (12…Bg6? 13. exd5 Bxc2 14. dxe6 +- duh).
12…Nb4? 13. Qc5 Be2 14. Qxb4 Bxf1 15. Bxf1
Material may appear to be equal, but in the middlegame a bishop pair is more powerful than a rook and a pawn. And Black still has a massive development problem, so White is winning here already.
15…O-O-O 16. Nc3 Qd7 17. Be3 e5 18. Qa5
Black has to be very careful because all of White’s pieces are ready to quickly join in an attack. He isn’t.
18…b6?
Loses definitively, although Black manages to find the best moves from now on for a while.
19. Bxb6!
axb6 20. Qa8+!
The most accurate. Not 20. Qa6+? Qb7 and white is simply a piece down, and 20. Ba6+ leads to unnecessary complications. This forces the king out onto the d-file because of the mate after 20…Kc7 21. Qa7+ Kc8? 22. Ba6+.
20…Kc7 21. Qa7+ Kd6 22. Rd1+ Ke7 23. Rxd7+ Rxd7 24. Qxb6
The dust has settled and White is easily winning based on material, let alone the fact that black is playing with just one rook. I decided to remove the pawn on c6 because it will give me the plan of promoting a queenside pawn; in practice attacking his king is much more efficient.
24…Rd6 25. Qc7+ Ke8 26. Nb5!?
Flashy but not strictly necessary.
26…Rd1
Black has to abandon the c-pawn; after 26…Rd6 27. Bc4 forces the rook away anyway, whereas 26…cxb5? leads to mate after 27. Bxb5+.
27. Qxc6+ Kf7 28. Kg2
Now Black’s king is fighting alone against all three of White’s pieces, and he quickly goes down.
28… h5 29. Bc4+ Kg6 30. Qe6 Bc5 31. Qf5+ Kh6 32. Bf7 1-0.