Opinion | Opinie 22/01/2010: Marcel has left the building

One day late, an opinion on my leaving-do.

What can I say? Around 40 people turning up to shove you out of the door, great, isn’t it? The truth is, it was indeed great; one of the better nights of my life.

Leaving my job has made one thing quite clear; most of the people I used to awkwardly refer to as “colleague/friends”  have now irreversibly and definitely turned into friends. That’s an amazing feeling; maybe that’s why I notice that I’m a bit more emotionally sensitive than usual; music has a bigger impact on my mood (for better or worse) than normally. Funny.

A touching moment occurred when we were leaving the restaurant. The head waitress came up to me and asked if I was leaving England, or Brighton, what my plans were, et cetera. Then she added “You have many friends. You should be proud.”

Proud I am not, I only did what I think is natural – show people how I feel about them.

…I’m also not proud because I forgot my umbrella at the restaurant :(.

there is more to say, for instance about the presents that I got, but I’ll save that for an update

Leave a Reply

