Opinion | Opinie 07/01/2010

(and featured website)

Spotify ROCKS!

Since two days I’ve had Spotify on my computer… and it’s great! It really is. I’m listening, legally, to all these albums I was curious about but never got round to downloading illegally. Buying legally. Very legally. Of course.

The first things I found were Green Day (21st Century Breakdown, American Idiot), Queen (Jazz, Innuendo), Black Mountain (eponymous) and Them Crooked Vultures. Awesome!

And the thing that really lifted Spotify to glorious heights is that (OK now comes the geeky bit you may want to skip) it works with the shortcut media player keys on my keyboard! So I can play, pause, and select tracks directly from the keyboard. Yeehaw! It’s the small things in life that make it worth living. Well actually big things are more important. But I digress.

Now, normally you need an invitation to get Spotify and of course I had one *cough* (still recovering from a cold I caught in Munich), but I might also point to this mysterious link

https://www.spotify.com/en/get-started/

where apparently you can start creating an account without being invited. Or maybe you should see that link as the invitation, I’m sure that’s what it is. In any case, enjoy Spotify! (not sure though what countries it works in!)

(update Apr 2010: that doesn’t work anymore)

Leave a Reply

