Spiders (2)

Since a couple of months, I have a resident spider in my kitchen. I never imagined it would survive, living in a corner of a window, because I really couldn’t see where it would get its insects from. Shows you what I know about spiders…

I now imagine it gobbles up small flying critters that come in through the open window a foot away, which then are too stupid to find the way back. Serves them right (apologies for the pun).

Bigger = better

Still, about a week ago I thought the end had finally come for my trusted bug-catcher –  I thought it was sitting dead in its web, without moving as I blew against it. Upon closer inspection however it wasn’t the end, but a new beginning: the spider had shed its old exoskeleton to move one bigger! Shows you what I know about spiders… Go Go Spidey!

Now I was planning to buy that macro lens for a while and I realised that this would make a perfect first target: unmoving, small but not too small, and easily reachable with camera. So, for the not-faint-at-heart, I present you the first real photos taken with my new macro lens… oh my, I am SO looking forward to using it!

First attempt, Sony Alpha 700 + Tamron 90mm 1/125s f/9.5, cropped

First attempt, Sony Alpha 700 + Tamron 90mm 1/125s f/9.5, ISO 400, cropped

Then I got a little bit closer… (and closed the  aperture a little more to get more depth-of-field)

as above; 1/125s f/13

as above; 1/125s f/13

Then I noticed the jaws (in the photo, not in real life! The magnification of the lens is astonishing :O :D!). So I slightly altered the angle and got yet a bit closer, about as close as possible:

as above, but a little closer :)

as above, but a little closer :)

I also sharpened this one a little in Photoshop to bring out the detail in the hairs – I’m sure you’re thankful ;P.

Leave a Reply

