London Zoo

Grey, not great

A fairly boring post about an interesting, but not great, day to London Zoo. The grey weather certainly did not help.

But, my dad and I did spend the entire afternoon there, being busy all the time. And when we had to leave, we hadn’t even seen half of the Zoo – which we regretted. So it can’t have been that bad. Still, seeing the okapis in an amazingly unimaginative enclosure does not inspire enthusiasm:

A bit... hmm :S
A bit… hmm :S

And similar feelings about the lion’s den, the gorilla enclosure, and various other sites. It’s not bad, there’s space for animals and they’re not behind bars, but it just all mostly looks so barren, artificial, and so… English. Stones and concrete and clearly man-made (see the high-riser bed in the lion’s photo). Or sand and grass and dead trees – see the okapi above.  

So why this post then?

reptile-house-miniWell because toward the end of our visit we went to the reptile house! And since reptiles miss a part of the brain that mammals have (*yes yes I know this is putting it the wrong way round, evolutionarily speaking…) they don’t get bored in a small confined space. The zoo mercilessly exploits this, and I in turn did my bit in taking quite a few nice photos – if I may say so myself :). I got to realise that the lens I had with me (the “non-standard standard” lens, my Carl-Zeiss 16-80 mm) is indeed really really good, and in-body image stabilisation is KING =). Anyway, you can find all the images in my Flickr set but here’s a taste:

Some tortoise

Some tortoise

A monitor

A monitor

Snake hiding

Snake hiding

 

Lizards. I think. Or maybe not.

Lizards. I think. Or maybe not.

And some other snake

And some other snake

3 thoughts on “London Zoo

  1. Not sure if reptiles don’t get bored. The crocs always lie in the sand the way I lie on my couch when I’ve got bored watching TV ;-)

Leave a Reply

