Featured video clip: Prisencolinensinainciusol

Another regular will hopefully be the video clip. I grew up listening to so much pop music, a lot of which stuck in my head. Now the time is here to get it out again! In no order except the one by which it pops up in my brain I will put the spotlight on a piece of music.
Expect the unexpected, things you don’t know – my musical memory was largely determined by the eclectic, wide-ranging, gourmand-style of my mom, dominated by anything, everything, pop of the ’60s and ’70s. The radio was on first thing in the morning and off last thing at night when I was little. That’s a lot of music :-).

This is an examplary, funny start: Adriano Celentano (who? you ask) with Prisencolinensinainciusol.

I learnt to say that, when I was a kid :-), and tried to impress my classmates with it (they didn’t care). For long I thought it was a Welsh town name, now I know more about Welsh – it’s clear it is not. The spelling of ‘-ciu’ gives away it is written by an Italian. Apparently it is deliberately written in a fantasy language and its message is one of love and peace. Aaaah… :-). Note also the typical 70’s clothes and dancing style. Musically, I like the monotonous beat that drives the song, interspersed with the brass wind, and the understated singing.

Enough of that, now enjoy…!

Leave a Reply

